Old 01-24-2018, 08:15 AM   #1

City: north myrtle beach,SC
Possibly a Mainship 36 aft cabin?

Newbie here. Recently lost our boat to a marina fire, the slip neighbor caught fire and damaged our boat. Ours was an diesel powered express cruiser which gave economical planning speed. Moving to a "trawler" might require a significant change in our cruising habits.
Two boats have drawn our attention. The Mainship 36 aft cabin, and the Bayliner 3888. Can anyone give me first hand knowledge of what fuel burn I can expect from either of these boats when on plan.
Thanks for your help
dlgammons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 09:04 AM   #2

City: Richmond
Mainship...are you talking about the one that was made mid-late 80's?
If so, isn't that really a 35'?
Anyway, it that is the one you are talking about, most came with 5.7's (350's). A lot of people would think that to be underpowered, but it really is a good, economical match. I don't have figures, but I had a buddy who used to have one and he got decent speed running less than 3000 RPM's.

Bayliner 3888, most came with Hino diesels. Kinda on the small side, but economical.
Chuck34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 09:27 AM   #3
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
For the Mainship you probably don't want to pull more than 150 hp out of each engine for best life. So according to boatdiesel's power calculator, 300 hp will push that boat to 17 kts. Gassers make about 12 hp per gph of fuel burned, so it will require 25 gph or about 0.7 NM/gal.

The Bayliner with the Hino diesels will do about 1/3 better, probably near 1 NM/gal at 17 kts. But pushing the Hinos to 150 hp each is too much, so I would keep it down to 14 kts or so.

Some Bayliners have been repowered with Cummins 6BTs, a much better engine IMO, and those could cruise at 17 ok.

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 10:43 AM   #4
Guru