Interesting boats

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I didn't see nmpg stats?? I miss something. With only 125 hours on both motors - current owner not too pleased? Also, having 5 fuel tanks at 150 gal ea... 750 gals gives what range [of course leaving a 20% fuel buffer]?

I got some more detailed info from the broker.

For context, I make my living from consulting in the renewables / clean tech industry, I'm trained as a mech-e, and have designed hybrid-electric propulsion systems back since the 1990s. I love this stuff. But man, the physics of it are so tough for boats and the details of this build illustrate why.

Bottom line is they're claiming 3-3.5gph at 6-7kts cruise. The traction battery pack can provide 1hr at 5kts (~30kWh from what I can tell). There's space for 2kW of PV, which would provide... ~20 minutes at 5kts per day.

I'd still love to sit down with the owner & understand the decision making that went into this.

Reactions: Art
Single engine and twin screws, not bad. 1500 nm range, not bad.
Add more batteries to extend the electric only range, not too bad.
Really, other than choosing to do this to a wooden hull and the expense, not too crazy.

Okay, maybe a bit crazy!

The gph vs cruise speed numbers don't seem impressive though. A standard pair of small diesels would likely do just as well or better.

The gph vs cruise speed numbers don't seem impressive though. A standard pair of small diesels would likely do just as well or better.

And no doubt cheaper.
To make any real sense, there would have to be 5+ kW of solar panels added.

I got some more detailed info from the broker.