Old 11-12-2013, 01:36 PM   #1

City: Baltimore
How much rope do you carry? is it enough?

As i am cleaning out the locker on my boat (Albin 27) i am finding more and more rope. Most of it is in serviceable condition and after cleaning out what is not i am still left with 600' by my estimate of various sizes and lengths plus about 100' on the anchor. seems like over kill to me but i am new to boating on this scale. i have 1000's of hours on small freshwater lakes where 2 cuts of 30-40' will serve any need i have ever ran into.
eseyoung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 01:43 PM   #2
Guru

City: Vallejo, California
Vessel Name: Mahalo Moi
Vessel Model: 1986 Grand Banks 42 Classic
Better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.

I have about 700 feet including a secondary anchoring rode. I have storage room so I'm not tripping over it.
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑβΕ
Giggitoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 01:50 PM   #3
Guru

City: Hotel, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Giggitoni View Post
Better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it.
That needs to be embossed on a plaque and mounted on my locker hatch.

What do you need all the rope for? You'd be surprised.

It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they've been fooled - Mark Twain
CPseudonym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:29 PM   #4

City: Hampton Bays, N.Y.
Vessel Name: Grand Yankee
Vessel Model: 1981 49' Grand Banks Classic
I like to have enough on board to always double up on my dock lines encase bad weather is due in and I can not be hauled out, If rolled tight and stowed correctly, lot of extra line can be towed aboard. Sitting home will not help out when you need it.
Ron T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:51 PM   #5
Guru

City: Annapolis
Vessel Name: Ranger
Vessel Model: 58' Sedan Bridge