Old 04-23-2017, 12:21 PM   #1

City: Brentwood
Vessel Name: Miss Rita
Vessel Model: 2004 Heritage East
House Battery Bank for everything??

OK, I am going to open a can of worms!! I have a 44' Gulfstar trawler, refitting, I am a newbie to big boats , but learning. The existing situation: I am forced to trace all wires to get this boat going, and I got to question some of the set ups. The existing batteries were 2 4D starting Batts for Perkins 6.354s, Battery for Windlass, Approx 14' from House Bank. Battery for Gen set, 8 interstate 6 volt for house bank.
Soooo! How about just one laaarge house bank of 12-14 6 volt batterys to run everything. I have room for 18 batteries, but may need less with the next generation, since I am presently planning on 50% discharge.
  • Get rid for The 4 Perko Switches
  • Understand the wiring on this boat.
  • Simple I know the diference in design of starting vs deep cycle, but would it really be th charging, same type of batteries
  • 1200-1400 amp hrs should crank anything, yes I know there is a difference in deep cycle vs starting.
  • New inverter/charger has to deal with one “battery”
  • Easier to work out larger Alternator plan and Solar.
  • With all the electronic monitoring, plus Solar panels, how could I get stranded? Also I could keep a starting battery with jumper cables for emergency. For got the dinghy!!
I know the difference in design of starting vs deep cycle, but would it really be problem with that big of a bank?
SteveandZoila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 12:29 PM   #2

City: Redlands
Considering the same thing. Subscribing to thread.
Old 04-23-2017, 12:34 PM   #3
Guru

City: Mississippi
Vessel Name: ADAGIO
Vessel Model: CHB Present 42 Sundeck
Interesting thought. But main reason for separation is if something in the 'house' shorts or something, and drains the batteries, you still have the start batteries to crank the engines - not so if one large bank that is dead