Help with single screw inboard.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jjsemo1

My wife and I are looking to buy a single screw trawler. We took her for a sea trial and I was surprised about the amount of prop walk she had. In reverse, the stern would go to starboard and the bow to port. She had a bow thruster, but would not compensate for the prop walk. I’ve been sailing for twenty years on quite a few inboard sailboats, but have never experienced this amount of prop walk before. This is our first time on a trawler.

Is there any way to compensate or correct this situation, or should I be looking for a twin screw boat?

This boat is in the Great Lakes.

Yes .. If you have a left hand prop that pulls to stbd and you want to make a landing on your port side ........ approach at a wider angle and before you would normally reverse apply full right rudder, get the stern swinging toward the float and then reverse to a stop. The boat's stern swing toward the float will be stopped by the prop walk when you reverse but then you'll be parallel alongside the float.

Greetings,
Welcome aboard Mr. jj. I've found the learning curve for a single prop to be fairly steep. You'd be surprised what some practice will do. Don't be put off by what you perceive as a LOT of prop walk compared to a sailing vessel with a large keel and a small prop/motor. Go out on a LOT of boats, both singles and twins and enjoy the search.

My wife and I are looking to buy a single screw trawler. We took her for a sea trial and I was surprised about the amount of prop walk she had. In reverse, the stern would go to starboard and the bow to port. She had a bow thruster, but would not compensate for the prop walk. I’ve been sailing for twenty years on quite a few inboard sailboats, but have never experienced this amount of prop walk before. This is our first time on a trawler.