Help Needed

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JP

Hello everyone!

I'm a trawler newbie and need some advice. *I am looking to live aboard with my two sons, ages 14 and 10. *I am looking at a 1978 42' Californian without a flybridge and a 1979 Marine Trader Sedan Europa. *

The Californian has twin Perkins diesels (approx. 2000 hrs), an 7.5 kw Onan generator, a 2000 w honda generator and a 12v windlass.*No survey is available for the Californian.

The Marine Trader does not come with a generator or a windlass, but it has a single 120hp Lehman (2400 hours and about 200 hours since "top end overhaul"), and an inverter . *A survey from two years ago indicates loose, unterminated connections in the lower helm console and loose unterminated conductors in the engine compartment. *The outlets in the galley and head are not GFCI protected as recommended by the ABYC. Additionally, there is some delamination of the stringers in the engine room, although immediate repair ( 2 years ago) was not recommended at that time.

The Marine Trader is priced about $12,000 less than the Californian, but I would like to address the above-listed deficiencies on the Marine Trader and add a generator.

Opinions?

Thanks!

You didn't mention the length on the MT 36,40 or 44? We owned a 36 until a few months ago. The deficiencies you are referring to are absolutely nothing. I can assure you both boats have far greater issues then those. Get a good survey done on whichever boat you pursue and educate yourself much more thoroughly on boat system, etc. so you can make an informed decision. It wouldn't hurt at all to have a buyers broker (like your's truly) knowledgeable in boats and in your case trawlers assist you. *

Don't fall in love. And look at lots (more than 2 - preferably more than 20) before you even think about getting serious about any of them.