Old 01-30-2014, 04:43 PM   #1
Guru

City: Windsor
Vessel Name: Keeper IV
Vessel Model: 44 Viking ACMY
Great Deal on Nexus 7 Tablet

For those interested Newegg is selling 1st Gen. Nexus 7s on eBay for $129.00. These are great tablets with built in GPS.

Asus Google Nexus 7 NVIDIA Tegra 3 1 20GHz 7" 1GB Memory 32GB Tablet PC 087944505020 | eBay
mbevins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 04:48 PM   #2
Guru

City: Victoria TX
Vessel Name: Bijou
Vessel Model: 2008 Island Packet PY/SP
Will something like this run the PC version of ActiveCaptain?
cardude01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 04:48 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

City: Home Port: Buck's Harbor, Maine
Vessel Name: "Emily Anne"
Vessel Model: 2001 Island Gypsy 32 Europa (Hull #146)
Are there apps/progams for Nav that will run on these? Sorry to ask, but I'm new to this stuff.
Old 01-30-2014, 05:13 PM   #4
Guru

To answer BOTH questions

Jeppesons "Plan2Nav" app runs in android. It has Active Captain embedded.
There are a couple of others as well. But I believe this is the best. The app is free.
Old 01-30-2014, 05:15 PM   #5
Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by cardude01 View Post
Will something like this run the PC version of ActiveCaptain?
Sorry, didn't read your question right.
No, you can't run A Captn PC version in android.. See my post above.
Old 01-30-2014, 08:05 PM   #6
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
Active Captain uses Flash. Neither Apple products nor current generation Androids support Flash.

But as others have noted, Plan2Nav is a decent charting app that downloads the current AC database so it can be used offline.

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 08:53 AM   #7
Guru

City: Southern Maine
Vessel Model: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser