Gaining practical experience - A how to question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nevada Mike

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
Kraken
Vessel Make
Hewescraft
As I posted previously, my wife and I are looking at a 10 year or less plan to get a trawler. I am retired and my wife wants to work until our last child is in college. That said, I lack to experience to even know what we want yet. While I have lots of boating experience in Alaska that hardly qualifies me to choose, operate, and maintain a larger vessel.

So.......

Where can I find quality instruction?
What is the first book you should read?

I have searched a few different ways for crew needed? Is there such a thing? I am not looking for work but rather a way to gain real world experience while helping out.

Great forum and thanks for any suggestions.