Old 12-29-2018, 08:54 PM   #1

City: Tisbury
Vessel Name: ALITA V
Vessel Model: Cape Dory 28
Cape Dory 28

Happy Holidays everyone!
Are there any other Cape Dory 28 owners on this forum? Would love to strike up a friendship with a fellow Dory owner. I’m brand new to this so in need of sage advice. Hope to hear from you soon.
Pauliemv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 05:47 AM   #2
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
I owned a gasser for several years. Great boat!

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 06:07 AM   #3

What kinda speed did you get with a gas engine. I’ve got a Westerbeke 100hp. Not sure what rpm is going to be best for both fuel economy and speed. Hoping it’ll cruise at 8-9 knots.
Old 12-30-2018, 07:14 AM   #4
Valued Technical Contributor

City: Litchfield, Ct
Here is some data I gleaned from my gasser. It shows that it takes about 40 hp to go 7 kts. It will take the same power to push it that fast with a diesel. That is probably where you want to run your Westy for a compromise between speed, fuel efficiency, engine noise, etc. I would expect that to be about 2,500 rpm on the Westy. So I don't think you will cruise at 9 kts, though you could push it to 8 kts which would require about 65 hp but that is as far as I would go.

1,500 rpm 6.5 kts 25 hp
2,000 rpm 7.2 kts 40 hp
3,000 rpm 11 kts 100 hp

David
DavidM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2018, 08:41 AM   #5
Guru

City: Satsuma FL
Vessel Name: No Mo Trawla
Vessel Model: Hurricane SS188
You might want to send a PM to Heron. He has a Cape Dory 28 but believe it has a Volvo.
Old 12-30-2018, 11:26 AM   #6
Guru

City: Cypress Landing Marina (NC)
Vessel Name: Heron (2)
Vessel Model: '88 Cape Dory 28 Flybridge #115
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donsan View Post
You might want to send a PM to Heron. He has a Cape Dory 28 but believe it has a Volvo.
Yup! shoot me a PM or email. Lots of info in my albums here: