Old 09-28-2013, 08:17 AM   #1

City: Lincoln
Complete Newbie

Hi every one, new to the forum here.

Its always been my dream to own a boat and travel the world. Living from one port to the next.
But ... i have absolutely no experience in the boating world at all.
Ive always wanted a trawler to convert but i have no idea where to start or any of the other implications of owning a boat?
But one thing is for sure, its cheaper than getting a mortgage on a house!

Any advice would be much appreciated

Thankssss
The Celt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 08:27 AM   #2
Guru

City: Kitimat, North Coast BC
Vessel Name: Badger
Vessel Model: 30' Sundowner Tug
Welcome aboard.

Everybody begins at the same place at the bottom of the learning curve. Once begun however, the paths are infinite!

Advice? Read, absorb, and dare to dream
Old 09-28-2013, 09:47 AM   #3

City: Palmetto Bay
Vessel Name: Sunshine
Vessel Model: Island Pilot DSe 12m Hybrid
You say you'd like a "trawler to convert?". That says to me you are interested in a commercial fishing boat that you will flesh out into a cruising/world voyaging boat - is this your intention?

Typically a fishing boat is designed for fishing and not for cruising. They can be uncomfortable without a hold full of ice and fish. Deep draft
Recents access to shoal-draft waters. Mechanical installations are engineered for professional seaman. But, if you have the skill-set to convert plus the time and space, go for it!

On the other hand, being a newbie, I'd suggest finding an affordable used trawler, not necessarily the final, world voyaging one, but something you can start using and learning the skills necessary for managing a world voyage. Voyaging under Power would be a good book for your library.