Fresh Water pump question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hydro

Vessel Name
Kik N Birrd
Vessel Make
1983 50' Ocean Alexander MK1
Hello all,

I have a JABSCO V-Flo Variable Speed Pump 5.0 for our fresh water pump. This thing has been nothing but trouble. I have went thru 3 pumps in four years & all have went out shortly after the warranty ran out (12 month warranty). All three started to not fully shut off until the pump would heat up I assume & trip the reset. I would then have to cycle the breaker to reset it. It then just keeps getting worse until it needs replaced. Anyone have advise on a better pump? Thanks, Randy

Randy do you have an accumulator tank in the system? If so, take it out. They confuse variable speed pumps. Jabsco had problems with their early variable speed pumps but the current ones seem to be much better. Look at their Sensor Max VSD pumps. 31750 & 31755 Sensor Max VSD Pumps > Sensor Max VSD Pumps > Xylem Flow Control - Let's Solve Water.

Shurflo couldn't make their variable speed pump work reliably. They now produce a series of pumps that have a bypass that feeds excess water back to the intake. This allows you to eliminate the accumulator tank but the pump always runs at full speed. AQUA KING™ II Fresh Water Pumps

Thanks for the reply. I do not have an accumulator tank on the system. I have been using the Sensor Max VSD pump but they have only been lasting about 14-15 months each. I am going to put another one in & see how it goes. At aprox $330 each it seems they would last longer. Thanks again for your input. Randy

Fresh water pump sizing

I have a 2.8 GPM, 7.5a, 45 psi shurflo fresh water pump on my 34' mainship. I have two baths and it seems if something is on there is no water pressure.

I would like to replace it to increase the water pressure. I have looked at several but I'm not sure if I need to increase the PSI or GPM.