dual bow rollers

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JanisK

Veteran Member
Vessel Name
NightinGayle
Vessel Make
Tradewinds 42
As my CQR anchor needs replacing (I'm getting a Sarca #8 http://www.anchorright.com.au/downloads/sarca_flyer.pdf ) and will likely need to replace the bow roller/bowsprit assembly I have been debating with myself whether I should get a dual roller bowsprit.

I am new to anchoring - mostly berth or run up onto a beach - but have aspirations of coastal cruising so will need to get that experience and knowledge.* Having read Earl Hinz' book on anchoring with his advice on using dual bow anchors on some occasions and using a snubber too it seems a second roller would be very handy.

What surprises me is that despite widespread googling I cant find any.* What does the forum think?

Here is a picture of the set up on my 43' Marine Trader.
Port side anchor is a CQR on about 15' of chain, then nylon rode.
Stbd anchor is a Bruce, on 250' of all chain rode.

The windless has a gypsy for nylon rode on port side, chain for starboard. So far I've always anchored with the Bruce, but no problems so far. Only problem I've had is on a mooring, where the pennant hangs up on the Bruce if the wind is light or shifts.

Attachments

• img_4197.jpg
    img_4197.jpg
    54.6 KB · Views: 138
  • img_4200.jpg
    img_4200.jpg
    49.6 KB · Views: 129
  • img_3686.jpg
    img_3686.jpg
    97.1 KB · Views: 140
  • img_4657.jpg
    img_4657.jpg
    99.7 KB · Views: 138
  • 260214_10150226153352467_560357466_7497134_2448644_n.jpg
    260214_10150226153352467_560357466_7497134_2448644_n.jpg
    105.3 KB · Views: 146
  • cimg7471.jpg
    cimg7471.jpg
    119 KB · Views: 135
Looks like you have triple rollers?

Well, technically, yes.