Dock lines

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Ah yes, that's where the snubbers come into play. Well wrapped (4 turns) and 18" in length seem to be a good combination for allowing plenty of give. We recently encountered 45 kt winds at Friday Harbor. So strong that we needed the boat hook to pull us close enough to the upwind dock to allow for boarding.

We're learning that tossing our normal lines (3/4"? 7/8"?) isn't that easy.

Turns out our lines are 1". No wonder they seem heavy.

Will probably go to 3/4" double-braid from a quality source and keep the 1" for storm backups.

There seems to be a difference of opinion on philosophy here. More stretch vs less stretch. I’ve been boating for over 50 years so I thought I had a good feel for dock lines but my recent experience with hurricane Sally makes me question my thoughts. Who has undergone a hurricane in the slip with success and what lines served you well? Seems like oversized lines with more stretch would be better but I don’t know. Stretch, with snubbers, less stretch with snubbers, less or more without snubbers? My current thoughts are The best New England Ropes that stretch and adding snubbers might be the answer. Thoughts?

Tying up for a hurricane and day to day docking in my mind are 2 different things.

Was taught eye splices in dock lines is a bad idea. Thinking is you can’t undo a splice. If the line is under load you can’t detach it. If for any reason (someone entangled, need to let go quickly, whatever) you’re out of luck. Even after being loaded a bowline can be untied.
Was taught not to use nylon once you’re over around 30k displacement. Rather put in a snubber.
Was taught runs should be chafe free. Chafing gear shouldn’t be necessary except on occasion where you’re forced to use dock or commercial cleats in disrepair. Anything will serve for that even a cloth or bit of rag.