Definition Of Full Displacement

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Delfin,
Don’t think bending is a problem on boats like this. I could be wrong as I’m no expert on steel building but I’ve seen a few come together w not very sophisticated equipment that had bends about the same as the bottom on these boats. It’s a bigger boat and takes more material but that shouldn’t be that much either. Bigger that a flatter boat bottom w/o such a big “underbelly”.

Which stern do you think would be easier and cheaper to build - the above or the below?

Attachments

• P1010003.jpg
    P1010003.jpg
    120.8 KB · Views: 27
The Coot has a similar crescent-shaped bottom.

Attachments

• coot hull.jpe
    coot hull.jpe
    48.1 KB · Views: 29
Delfin,
My opinion would be the above by far. Lots of compound cirves on the “below” hull. The “above” hull is much more like a simple plywood rowing skiff but lots and lots of rocker. The panels or plates curve in only one direction like flat panels tend/want to do. The “below” boat has much more developed and complicated curved in many planes and in more directions. Rocker being the inverted curve of the bottom running fore and aft. Like the “rocker” on a rocking chair. Kinda like Marks boat on steroids. Marks boat has the same kind of rocker but to a far less degree. The “above” fishing boats are huge and very heavy. Marks QBBL would be much more shallow or put another way a lower angle than the big fishing boats. But the same type of hull basically. Most trawlers have fairly shallow QBB Lines. The IG’s for example have such a shallow angle it’s more like a planing hull. But none the less a SD hull due to her fairly heavy weight, big keel, and prop and gears suited more to heavy craft. Other trawlers like the GB are inbetween. More like a FD hull but still a SD.