Deck Shoes - Sperry Sux

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Boy, you are fortunate! I have beautiful spotless decks and that didn't prevent the Coasties from tromping on them with their black tar boots. I still have a small mark on my Trex gunwales from a boarding about two years ago!

Australian customs wear the same nazi punk kicker boots.
When they bring the sniffer dogs onboard they have little protective socks on, I don't know why the boys in black can't do the same.

I have been wearing Sperry Topsiders 'Billfish' shoes for the past 5 years now. I get a solid year out of them before I wear out the soles. The rubber sole is still sticky, but I just wear out the tread and heal. They are not good for standing on my feet all day because of lack of cushion. But, they are the closest I can find to going bare foot with a pair of shoes on. In the wet winter weather, my ever day shoe is a pair of Keen's that are waterproof. (no reason to have wet cold feet in February). So, I only really wear the Sperry's about 8 months out of the year...

I used to buy them on line. No savings in cost, just convenient. I stopped because the leather color often didn't match between the shoes. Not sure why this was the case, but one dark tan and a lite tan looks stupid and it is a pain to return them.

I still like the look and the way they wear over time. I am sticking with them at this point.

My experience with Crocs is they are comfortable and gription is pretty good when new. After some wear they get slick as goose droppings on a treated wood dock. Don't ask me how I know but it is a "tail" I lived to tell about.
I (and my L1 vertebra) can confirm Crocs and wet painted strips between parking spaces are not a good combination, especially if a slope toward an adjacent curb is involved.

I have very much enjoyed Margaritaville shoes by Jimmy Buffet.