Dauntless Fuel Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Wxx3

Dauntless Award
Vessel Name
Dauntless
Vessel Make
Kadey Krogen 42 - 148
So, the last few days have been spent making bigger inspection ports in my port fuel tank to facilitate putting a sealant in it.

In my next post (from my cell) I will post the pictures that show I had water coming in from the vent fitting. I have previously said that I had already changed the vent hose from outside to inside.

But the pictures also seem to indicate that the screw holes had rusted and rain water was getting into the tank from the top of the tank.

That also explains why when I purposely overfilled the tank by 10 gallons, I had fuel get out, though it did not happen with the stb tank (now, if you ask why I did it in the first place, the answer, as simple as it sounds, I wanted to see what would happen. I'm a scientist after all).

I will also be writing of all the work that was done this winter with before and after pictures.:D

I'm trying to post pictures but it sint doing anything once it says "100%"

Last edited:
I'm trying to post pictures but it sint doing anything once it says "100%"

ForumRunner_20160426_193855.jpg

ForumRunner_20160426_194004.jpg

All these pictures are on the side

ForumRunner_20160426_194034.jpg

Here

Attachments

• ForumRunner_20160426_193918.jpg
    ForumRunner_20160426_193918.jpg
    32.8 KB · Views: 99
Last edited:
Richard: Yikes! What screws are you referring to that rusted?

The screws someone used to install the vent fitting!:eek:

You can see them sticking out and I think at least one is totally rusted thru so you can see light. That's how the fuel got out of the tank when it was full.

Also unseen on the picture is another thing, possibly a screw in the top of the tank about 3 feet forward. It's either a screw or a stalactite.