Currents up the SF Delta?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Toki

Vessel Name
Toki
Vessel Make
Ranger 27
Hey folks, in a couple weeks I'll be moving my daughter's sailboat from Vallejo up the delta to the Rio Vista area. I'm new to this sort of river travel, and I need to consider that 20 HP motor pushing the lead keel up river (as opposed to 220 HP in my tug!), so I want to time the journey around favorable currents.

I see plenty of info on-line for tides along the way, and I can certainly estimate current direction based on that, but I'm having trouble finding more precise current info; velocity and timing. Up here in the PNW, we have resources like Deepzoom and the Canadian Hydrographic charts that show currents in nice graphical formats.

Question: do any of you bay area-ers know of similar charts or on-line apps showing current time and velocitiy for the delta?

Thanks

I have Coastal Explorer on my laptop. It shows currents and direction. Little spendy for one trip.

Fortunately for you, the Sacramento River was widened significantly many years ago and that has reduced velocities along your route. What you encounter will primarily be controlled by upstream releases from reservoirs, mitigated by tides. The Delta has several gages throughout but few give velocities. However you can get velocities from the SDI gage on CDEC (http://cdec.water.ca.gov/cdecstation2/).

If you compare the velocity against stage for a similar lunar tidal period you can get some idea of what you will encounter.

I use Navionics to plan and monitor tides and currents. It's inexpensive and easy to use. With a slow sailboat, you might be able to 'ride the tide' all the way to Rio Vista if you start early enough in the tide cycle. You can possibly get a 1-1.5 kts push if you time it right.