This is Crazy

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hmason

Guru
Vessel Name
Lucky Lucky
Vessel Make
Pacific Mariner 65
I had the local CAT authorized service center do an inspection of our engines. They made numerous recommendations, all of a preventive maintenance nature. Items such as removing and cleaning after coolers and gear coolers, some hose replacement etc. among the items were the replacement of a radiator cap.

Today I received their estimate read just two items---the total and the first item on the estimate list.

Item 1. Replace radiator cap: Parts, $5.61. Labor, $120.83
I timed removal of radiator cap and replacing at about 8 seconds, and I am not a mechanic.

The total for both engines, which are very well maintained was in excess of $13,000 !

Have they lost their collective minds, or do they think all boaters are rich by nature. Should any TF ers need their radiator caps replaced, I'll do it for 50 bucks plus travel time of course.

BTW, when the Admiral saw the quote she said sell the boat. :whistling:

Cat engines are like Colt revolvers. You pay through the nose for the name even though there are other engines (and revolvers) that are just as good or better.

I disagree. While that estimate for a radiator cap replacement is ridiculous, CAT makes a good engine. And you can get service anywhere in the world.

If you think you pay through the nose for CATs, don't even bother looking at MTUs or MANs.

There are no cheap modern diesels from what I see today.

I disagree. While that estimate for a radiator cap replacement is ridiculous, CAT makes a good engine. And you can get service anywhere in the world.

If you think you pay through the nose for CATs, don't even bother looking at MTUs or MANs.

Disagree with what?

Yep. Free and included oil and coolant sampling. All came out perfect.