Old 04-03-2015, 04:17 PM   #1

City: Deltaville, VA
Vessel Name: Cork
Vessel Model: Halvorsen GC32
Cold Galvanizing Compound

This spray product made by Rustoleum contains 93% lead. I was told it is the exact formula as Petit Barnacle Barrier. I am thinking of using it to coat my thruster prop. Any experience with this product?
Bill Ranson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 04:23 PM   #2
Curmudgeon

City: Stoney Creek, MD
Vessel Name: Moon Dance
Vessel Model: 1974 34' Marine Trader Sedan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Ranson View Post
This spray product made by Rustoleum contains 93% lead. I was told it is the exact formula as Petit Barnacle Barrier. I am thinking of using it to coat my thruster prop. Any experience with this product?

I have no experience with the Rustoleum product, but the Petit stuff has worked very well for me on all the running gear for the past number of years.
BaltimoreLurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 04:35 PM   #3

City: Olympia, WA
Vessel Name: Sea Eagle
Vessel Model: Nordhavn 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Ranson View Post
This spray product made by Rustoleum contains 93% lead. I was told it is the exact formula as Petit Barnacle Barrier.
According to the MSDS sheet for Pettit Barnacle Buster, it is 30-50% zinc.

I used it on my main propeller for this past year and the prop stayed clean. I forgot to coat my wing engine prop and as you can see below, it didn't fair quite as well!

After One year in the water, main prop is relatively clean. The folding prop, not so much.
Boydski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 04:39 PM   #4
Guru

City: Pender Harbour, BC
Vessel Name: Gwaii Haanas
Vessel Model: Custom Aluminum 52
Hey Boyd, did you ever run your wing engine? I imagine you spun up your main wheel lots but the wing engine, not so much?
Old 04-03-2015, 04:44 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xsbank View Post