Old 03-22-2011, 06:53 PM   #1

Hi there!

Hello everyone!

My name is Tom,*

I'm very new to the world of boating and live aboards. I've been wanting to own a boat and live on it for many years. I've read lots over this time to try and prepare myself.

A little about myself. I live in South Florida and work as an I.T. Support analyst for a healthcare system here. I also volunteer working with injured wildlife. I've had to put off this dream for quite some time but now I'm ready, although a little rushed with my Credit Union approving a loan that will remain active for only 30 days before I have to re apply. I was denied the boat loan at first, but then appealed and it went through. I think it might be just as tough if I have to re apply, thus the rushed feeling. Also they sent me to Wisconsin for training for two weeks and that bit into my time.

Any who, I am looking at this boat and posted it on the Living aboard forums but thought this site would have possibly more information as it's devoted to trawlers.

Can anyone give me some information on this boat? I've watched it slide down in price and am strongly considering placing a bid on it.

http://www.yachtworld.com/boats/1977/Ch ... ted-States

It seems to need a fair amount of work, I've been told it also has some blisters but from what I've read, blisters aren't to be that frightened of.

Does anyone know this style and their overall quality and seaworthiness? I know it's a lot to ask, I find myself drawn to it even with the issues but need some knowledgeable advice. I've had a hard time even finding any info on this style anywhere online.

I think I can handle tearing up the teak, I've read a nice guide on these forums. If I can live on it while working on it, I should be good. I wonder about the make/model of this.

Thanks for any information and I'm very glad to have come across this site!
Bakeract is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 07:58 PM   #2
Guru

City: Cary, NC
Vessel Name: Skinny Dippin'