Old 03-18-2019, 08:58 AM   #1

City: Punta Gorda
Engine Choices

Hey All,
First off I am a Newbie.....I am considering my first boat purchase and the boat I am looking at I have found with one of 3 engines. It seems that a Volvo diesel is the most common, but they also are found with Yanmar, and Cummins engines. Knowing little to none about engines I wondered if more experienced members might provide insight into these brands. I appreciate any experienced insight into the pros and cons of either.....or doesn’t it really matter and my questions are there only because I know so little 😮👍😎
Thank you
Keith
“ It’s not the speed that kills, its the sudden stop at the end!”
PACA 1953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 09:15 AM   #2
Guru

City: gulf coast
Look at the engine displacement not just the HP rating. Cummins would be my choice all things being equal.
bayview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 09:16 AM   #3
Guru

City: San Diego
Vessel Name: Circuit Breaker
Vessel Model: 2021..22' Duffy Cuddy cabin
Quote:
Originally Posted by PACA 1953 View Post
Hey All,
First off I am a Newbie.....I am considering my first boat purchase and the boat I am looking at I have found with one of 3 engines. It seems that a Volvo diesel is the most common, but they also are found with Yanmar, and Cummins engines.
I have had all three brands over the years & my favorite is Yanmar but the Cummins were the easiest to work on.(IMO)
Old 03-18-2019, 09:25 AM   #4

City: Kiln,MS
they all will break eventually. so first thing is to look at is service and support for what your wanting to buy. the cummins would probably be the best for part availability/cost as well as support.
BIG CAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 10:16 AM   #5
Guru

City: Galveston, Texas
Vessel Model: 24" El Pescador
Which model of those engines--Example--a Cummins 6bt is more desirable than a Cummins 555.

https://boatdiesel.com/
Old 03-18-2019, 10:21 AM   #6

It is a 6 BTA Cummins