Old 08-21-2019, 02:38 PM   #1

City: Sun City
Chb 34

Hi folks,I’m fairly new to TF and I am looking at the CHB 34 as an entry level boat. We are looking to base it in the PNW, and there are a few on the market. Looking at videos, my wife and I both remarked how the boat seems to pitch and yaw in moderate chop to some small rollers, leading to some possible green around the gills. I don’t know if it’s due to it being a lighter boat, narrower beam or not. Any thoughts on stability compared to their boats in this class? I’m not married to the thought of a CHB-just part of the many parts of due diligence, best shot anyway.
Thanks and cheers!
Defrostedcanuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 03:56 PM   #2

City: La Conner, WA
Vessel Name: Carousel
Vessel Model: Bayliner 4788 (1998)
Welcome aboard.

Everyone's reaction to motion is different. A boat is not a stable platform and it will move around in the waves. So what is rough for one person is nothing to another. That said 3 foot waves for us on the bow is not that bad but place 2 foot seas on the beam for any length of time and I'm looking at changing course. Also I rarely pilot from the bridge which would exaggerate any rocking.

There is a person on youtube that has several videos that he has shot while underway that might be worth watching. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCj...FmqEyQnMryOcTg

Good luck on your search and if possible try to find coverage moorage.
NWSeadog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 04:16 PM   #3

City: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Charter first

Hi Canuck! and welcome to the forum. Before you plunk down $ to purchase, $ to berth, $ to insure, operate, maintain and pay taxes on. I recommend that you charter first. Cooper Boating out of BC has a CHB 35 "Stella Maris" out of Powell River, you can try out the boat, check her in different sea conditions and learn a little about what works for you.