Old 11-13-2018, 06:51 AM   #1

City: Upper Kingsclear
Vessel Name: Halliday
Vessel Model: Marine Trader 38
Caulking around Wood Windows

I am having a bit of trouble deciding what caulking to use to reinstall my Marine trader wood framed windows. I am leaning towards either SilkaFlex-291 or SikaFlex High Strength Adhesive & Sealant 2921.
I have no experience with either product, so help would be appreciated. Or if there is a better product please let me know.

Thank you

Bill

ToTheLimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 09:47 AM   #2

City: NJ
Use something you can remove in about 10 years time to do over again.

alormaria2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:01 AM   #3

City: Southport, NC
Vessel Name: Shangri-La
Vessel Model: Grand Banks 42 Classic
Although our windows are not wood, they're aluminum - the seal is just as important. We re-caulked all of them with DAP 40 year acrylic latex. Local builders use it here on the coast for caulking everything exposed to the same salt, wind environments we are. Easy clean up and paints easy. Been on for 2 years now - zero issues.

Edit: If you are looking for something to bed the frames in, Sika is a better product. This is for caulking, once the frame is set properly.

Eat Life -
www.grandpapickers.com
NightCrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:07 AM   #4
Guru

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Never Say Never
Vessel Model: President 41 DC
Sika 291 worked for caulking my teak toe rail. I used their primer on the wood first. Expensive at about $80 per can, but I wanted it to work really well.
Comodave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:55 AM   #5

City: Lutz
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToTheLimit View Post
I am having a bit of trouble deciding what caulking to use to reinstall my Marine trader wood framed windows. I am leaning towards either SilkaFlex-291 or SikaFlex High Strength Adhesive & Sealant 2921.