Cape Dory 28

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pauliemv

Vessel Name
ALITA V
Vessel Make
Cape Dory 28
Happy Holidays everyone!
Are there any other Cape Dory 28 owners on this forum? Would love to strike up a friendship with a fellow Dory owner. I’m brand new to this so in need of sage advice. Hope to hear from you soon.

I owned a gasser for several years. Great boat!

David

What kinda speed did you get with a gas engine. I’ve got a Westerbeke 100hp. Not sure what rpm is going to be best for both fuel economy and speed. Hoping it’ll cruise at 8-9 knots.

Here is some data I gleaned from my gasser. It shows that it takes about 40 hp to go 7 kts. It will take the same power to push it that fast with a diesel. That is probably where you want to run your Westy for a compromise between speed, fuel efficiency, engine noise, etc. I would expect that to be about 2,500 rpm on the Westy. So I don't think you will cruise at 9 kts, though you could push it to 8 kts which would require about 65 hp but that is as far as I would go.

1,500 rpm 6.5 kts 25 hp
2,000 rpm 7.2 kts 40 hp
3,000 rpm 11 kts 100 hp

David

You might want to send a PM to Heron. He has a Cape Dory 28 but believe it has a Volvo.

You might want to send a PM to Heron. He has a Cape Dory 28 but believe it has a Volvo.

Yup! shoot me a PM or email. Lots of info in my albums here:

https://public.fotki.com/ttschwing/cape-dory-28-trawler/

heron28@earthlink.net

2v2Jdgih8x3cYB.jpg

Last edited:
Pauliemv...

You've posted numerous inquiries on the CD28 with lots of responses but you've not replied to, or seem to have received any of them. If you aren't getting notifications of responses to your threads, you likely won't get this one. Change your settings to allow that.....

Steve I’ve been getting replies... maybe I’m not sure how to navigate this forum.
Paul
Oh...
Happy New Year!