Old 07-18-2010, 05:53 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Buying a 1980 34' CHB!

What should I look out for? I am a newbie to*trawler ownership and have had a*friend and brother-in-law look at the boat but neither have or do own the same boat.* Looking for anyone who does or has owned a similar year or model for advice on what*I should look for!* Thanks, David

-- Edited by patzfan4eva on Sunday 18th of July 2010 08:27:42 PM
patzfan4eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 05:11 AM   #2
TF Site Team

City: Ex-Brisbane, (Australia), now Bribie Island, Qld
Vessel Name: Now boatless - sold 6/2018
Vessel Model: Had a Clipper (CHB) 34
RE: Buying a 1980 34' CHB!

Ok.....who's going to go first....?
Peter B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:01 AM   #3
Guru

We have a Marine Trader 34, same boat. Typically with these boats the biggest issues are decks, If it has teak decks we run away, leaking windows, obvious from water stains on the wood, leaking or rusty fuel and water tanks, old frozen thru-hull valves, electrical problems, deteriorating stringers, especially under the engine, failing stern tube. That should give you some starters.
Capn Chuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 06:27 AM   #4
Guru

City: Chocowinity NC
Vessel Name: My Yuki
Vessel Model: 1973 Marine Trader 34
Buying a 1980 34' CHB!

Here's a recent thread where a lot of the Marine Trader/CHB issues were discussed:

http://www.trawlerforum.com/forum.sp...picID=32225747

There* are a lot of us here* on the forum who have seen most of the stuff you might run into.* Be patient, handy with tools, or have some spare change in your pocket.* If you're looking for a relatively inexpensive way to get into a coastal cruisers these TT's have filled a lot of our needs.

-- Edited by ARoss on Monday 19th of July 2010 07:30:42 AM
ARoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2010, 08:29 AM   #5
TF Site Team/Forum Founder

City: League City, Tx
Vessel Name: Floatsome & Jetsome