Old 01-06-2014, 05:21 PM   #1
Guru

City: St. Lucie VILLAGE -NOT- Port St. Lucie!!!!!
Vessel Model: 15' Hobie Power Skiff w/90hp Yamaha-owned 28 years. Also a 2001 Bayliner 3788 that I took in trade
Brokers recommending surveyors

This subject has been bandied about on several different threads, so thought I would make a new one from my point of view. I'm a broker. When you individuals buy and sell a boat, it's usually just that one time for that one boat, but the way I think about it is "this person is going to want me to eventually sell that boat for them"- so I'm thinking further down the road. It's not unusual for me to sell the same boat 3 times. My record is 5 times on a 1978 48' Soverel before it finally sailed across the horizon, and has yet to return. So knowing this I want to make damn sure my client is buying a good boat, one that I can easily resell, so I'm looking way past closing the first deal. I want a GOOD survey too. Of course I only offer boats I've pre-surveyed myself so this saves a lot of surprises down the road.