Broker and surveyor recommendations in or near Chesapeake, VA

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Airmon

Hi all,
My wife and I are first time trawler buyers ( we've had several small runabouts as a couple, and I've got some past experience on diesel boats in the 35-40' range ) and are looking to buy a moderately inexpensive boat for living aboard (full-time) & a few years of coastal cruising. Little loop, Great loop, Downeast loop, FL Keys, Bahamas, etc. We'd like to stay under $100k and while we don't need a lot of luxuries, we'd like a solid boat with space for weekend guests and no major issues.
We've got our eye on a few Taiwanese trawlers, mostly, and are working to separate the wheat from the chaff. It's sometimes a challenge, we've looked at two boats that were really serious projects - one of which was majorly misrepresented. We've learned from that experience now got our eyes on two others that seem like what we're looking for. One of which we've set foot on and are impressed by, and the other that shows well from a distance at least.

To that end, we're looking for a broker to represent us on a purchase and a surveyor that has some experience with the type and price range we're looking in. The broker for the first of our latest "crushes" seems fantastic, but it seems like a conflict of interest for both the buyer and the seller to use the same broker. We're hoping for a surveyor that will help us evaluate a boat with our use case in mind.

We're shopping on the east coast, near Norfolk, VA.

Thanks, and we look forward to getting onboard our own vessel soon and really joining the club.
Eric Udell

You're looking for a 'Buyer's broker'. That individual will work WITH the Listing Broker. You are correct that the Listing Broker can really only represent the seller and it would be a conflict of interest to work on both parties behalf.