Broker ??'s

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BigJim

Say I found a boat I like. Can I speak with and negotiate with the owner?
What services do the broker provide if I have already found a boat?
Who pays his fee?
What is the normal fee a broker receives?

If I have found a boat I like it seems, (sorry brokers) the seller and buyer could save whatever the fee would be.

I am new to this so please do not flame me.

Trying to learn how this is all done.

Say I found a boat I like. Can I speak with and negotiate with the owner?
What services do the broker provide if I have already found a boat?
Who pays his fee?
What is the normal fee a broker receives?

If I have found a boat I like it seems, (sorry brokers) the seller and buyer could save whatever the fee would be.

I am new to this so please do not flame me.

Trying to learn how this is all done.

You can always talk to the owner, of course. It is a free country. But an ethical owner will refer you to the broker. The owner pays broker fees. Negotiating a price is between you and the owner. A boat broker plays an important role, just as a real estate broker does. Are there some of them who should be taken out and dropped overboard with dive weights attached? Of course. But my experience (bought several boats, sold several boats) has always been positive.

This is not a flame. You asked for info, and I gave you my opinion. Others may differ.

Fair enough

Another question.

Does the broker complete the paperwork part of the deal?

Say we get to the survey part of the deal and my guy finds the boat needs repairs and we put a dollar value on them.

If I have cash in hand, not a finance deal, no "let me see if I can finance this." who is to say I don't make a low offer. In lieu of the owner making the repairs.

I guess what I am trying to say is I want the best price I can negotiate down to.