Bottom paint? Blue water marine paint?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

saintglenn

Veteran Member
Searched the forum and did not
Find anything about this. Has anyine used their products? Im Leaning towards them or interlux... Opinions?

Stick with Interlux...the marine construction firm I used to work for uses Bluewater products and all my old buddies say it's very finicky paint. I was there several times company reps had to come down and inspect failed paint jods because it's so finicky to apply as decribed to me.

That's not to say most of us aren't more fincky than many pro applicators..I think many time we are...but why start on the short end of the stick...
All said...I have no personal experience so I'll be happy to hear from those that have...options in the world of expensive bottom paint is a wonderful thing!

I use Interlux bottom paint too. But one comment about that. If it is a yard supplying and painting the boat. Be sure they are giving you a good quality product. I learned my lesson two years ago for not asking questions. When I made arrangements with my usual yard to do my haul out and bottom work, they gave me a package price and I never thought to ask about the paint as I knew they use Interlux.

It looked great when it came out of the yard, but within 6 months was growing grass and slime at the waterline. When I asked them about that, they said it was ablative paint and that is the way it works. It washed off when I went out for a run alright, but this spring the growth came back with a vengeance. Looks like a vegetable garden and doesn't wash off now. My diver reported barnacle growth here and there and commented the paint was worn out, needs to be hauled in his report? He was astonished that it was just two summers on the paint.