Old 06-24-2017, 08:37 AM   #1
Veteran Member

City: North Carolina
Vessel Name: Into the Mystic
Vessel Model: Silverton 43
Boating Courses

I am new to boating recently purchasing our first boat, at Silverton 43. My wife and I signed up for the Seamanship course offered by the USPS and started it a few weeks ago. We like it so far, especially being able to ask questions and hear stories.

We are told the next course would be Piloting. Here is the course description.

Piloting is the first and most basic navigation course, covering chart reading, course plotting, and basic coastal or inland navigation, including basic GPS usage. This course goes into more detail than the charting information covered in the public courses.

One problem is that we would like to take the course in Greensboro NC near our home but it may not be offered unless there are 4-5 students. It is offered in starting October 10.

My questions are, 1) Is this course recommended and 2) Any ideas how to help find 3-4 more people so they have the course?
Eddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 09:41 AM   #2
Guru

City: Miami River
Vessel Name: Gotcha
Vessel Model: Grand Banks. Heritage. 54
Congrats of you decision.

Yes piloting and advanced piloting are recommended even when using GPS.

Best was to spread the news is word of mouth. You can print some flyers and go to the public ramps and pass them out or put under wiper arms on vehicles with trailers. Most local radio stations will give air time to promote public service advice. Have any friends?
Bigsfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 10:19 AM   #3
Guru

City: Ft Pierce
Vessel Name: Sold
Vessel Model: Was an Albin/PSN 40
Be careful about stories and things heard not in print.

Good luck with the instruction, hope it helps.

I am not familiar with power squadron instruction personally, but have heard less horror stories than from USCGAUX instruction.

While both organizations do an unbelievable amount of good.....