Old 04-30-2019, 08:39 PM   #1
Guru

City: Sharon, Ma
Vessel Name: Slow Lane
Vessel Model: 2005 Silverton 35 Motoryacht
My stupid mistake, good outcome (w/video)

In the end of March/ beginning of April I was running around like a chicken with my head cut off during the process of buying my new boat. The boat was about 30 miles from me and there was so much that needed to be done and coordinated. Multiple surveys, fluid samples, measuring canvas stuff, wash, wax, zincs, new batteries etc. I was driving back and forth from Boston to the North Shore like 2 or 3 times a week to check on things and see the work that was being done......After all that I never checked or remembered to inspect the condition of the bow and thruster zincs. The yard SAID they were still in good shape but that they weren't familiar with those type of zincs. I didn't wanna take any chances and couldn't trust a yard with whom I had no experience with. I've had lots of bad experiences over the years with marine and service folks; it's sad but I don't trust anyone anymore. At the end of the day it's my boat (and my home, I'm a liveaboard) and I need total assurance. Well, after lots of phone calls to Vetus thrusters in Maryland and some YouTube videos I found out that the zincs have 2 bolts and go BEHIND the thruster props. So they are not easily visible to the untrained eye. Even though the yard said they were fine I needed to see them for myself. I CAN'T BELIEVE I DIDN'T THINK ABOUT THIS BEFORE I LAUNCHED THE BOAT!!. I'm so detail oriented too.....It's bugging me as I type this. Lol

Long story short....I hired a diver to come to my slip in Boston and do a visual inspection w/ video of the entire bottom and an emphasis on the thrusters. Everything is fine. Both thrusters still have more than 75% of life left. You have to really look behind the props and feel behind them to gauge the clearance.