Boat Roll

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fish Isla

Vessel Name
ITZAE
Vessel Make
53 Selene
The wife and I are looking for a new boat. I know they roll with the soft chine. Can anyone comment on how they are stabilizers.

Last edited:
A round bottom, displacement hull like the Krogen rolls in a beam sea but the motion is softer than a semi-displacement hull and should feel more comfortable in the same conditions.

Active stabilizers do work, but I have no experience on a Krogen. You can read about experiences of others with stabilizers on other boats by searching on stabilizers on this forum.

David

I have Naiad stabilizers on my Krogen 42. Night and day when activated on a beam sea.

What brand and model are you looking at?

Totaly agree with Meridien
My 50ft Cheoy Lee is night and day.
Can go from 30 degree to 10-15 with the stabilzers in a quartering sea 25-30kts wind 6ft sea. Naiad stabilzers now (36yrs old)

The wife and I are looking for a new boat. I know they roll with the soft chine. Can anyone comment on how they are stabilizers.

Our 43 Selene/Solo is stabilized, Wesmar. Makes the difference between stuff tossing off the shelves or not. Astounding difference. Ask anyone who has a boat with stabilizers if they'd like them removed at no cost...:) I can pretty well predict the answer.

Salene is on my list. Another 43 was listed yesterday. I am moving away from the nordhavn having a bridge is a priority.

I have Naiad stabilizers on my Krogen 42. Night and day when activated on a beam sea.

+1.

Stabilizers are must on my vessel when doing long trips.

Cheers.

H.