Old 03-05-2012, 01:58 PM   #1

Replacement Cushions

My husband and I are currently working on our 73 Gulfstar. *She needs lots of love to get her where we need her to be. *Our plan is to live aboard in 2 years. One of my jobs is to replace all of the cushions, V-berth, dinette and the main sleeping quarters. *I am going to be making the covers myself, but am looking for some ideas on what folks think is the best type of foam to use. *The current foam is in pretty sad shape and smells of diesel fuel. *Also any suggestions on where to purchase the foam? *Since I am new to all of this I am up for any and all suggestions. *Pictures of anyone's own projects would be also helpful. *
Momma Kent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 02:07 PM   #2

Replacement Cushions

Google foam cushions. I just did it the other day and was shocked by how much good info there is about choice of material, and suppliers. If the current ones smell from diesel though, check the tank vent just to be safe. Should not have any lingering odor in the vessel. Google marine cushions and you will fing all kinds of speciality shapes. Enjoy the project !

-- Edited by Old Stone on Monday 5th of March 2012 04:09:17 PM
Old 03-05-2012, 03:41 PM   #3
Guru

City: Biloxi, MS
Vessel Name: Cajun Rose
Vessel Model: Biloxi Lugger
RE: Replacement Cushions

I don't know about the foam but I used sumbrella fabric and they came out wonderful. I have a post that has pictures, I'll find it hold on,,,,,here it comes,,,,
http://www.trawlerforum.com/t4415560...-after-a-fire/
I paid 6 grand for whats in the pictures. 25 or 28 cushions I don't remember. That sum or sunbrella fabric is the bomb and they turned out great. Good luck, I wish I had the skills to do that.
swampu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:49 PM   #4
Guru

City: Joe Wheeler State Park, Al
Vessel Name: Serenity
Vessel Model: Mainship 36 Dual Cabin -1986