Old 08-02-2018, 09:38 AM   #1
Guru

City: Newark, DE
Vessel Name: Infinity
Vessel Model: Kadey Krogen 48
The Bad

As I said in another thread, I think we can help each other by sharing stories, good and bad, about players in the boating market. Here are a couple of vendors I've had bad experiences with:

Xantrex -- had a charger that failed. The option they offered was that I could go buy a new one. (This was 10 years ago and maybe they have improved. I have no knowledge.)

Walker Bay Boats - http://www.trawlerforum.com/forums/s...ats-39184.html
danderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 11:08 AM   #2
Guru

City: Cape May, NJ
Vessel Name: Irish Lady
Vessel Model: Monk 36
It’s a shame they make a really nice and simple 8kw generator package but my bad list is Phasor Marine Generators.
First I ordered a 6.5 kw compact gen set. What arrived was an 8 kw with 9.5 kw engine for no additional charge. I didn’t know it for sure yet but I suspected my old generator died of chronic under loading. Turned out to be true. No phone call asking if it would be ok to substitute. The installer was surprised I was not thrilled with the “upgrade”. No answer if or when a 6.5 would arrive. I accepted it.
Second is the only documention received was a Kubota engine manual from a tractor where everything is different. No generator connections drawings to verify the connections were correct for my 120v only setup boat, no spare parts list, no installation guide, no wiring diagrams other than that for a tractor with a key ignition switch.
I was able to coax a xerox copy of the installers hand corrected Phasor spare parts list. They have one name to call for parts. No response from “Contact Us” contacts. I have given up pending future problems.
High Wire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 11:36 AM   #3
Guru

City: NARBONNE
Vessel Name: 'Snow Mouse.'
Vessel Model: BROOM FLYBRIDGE 42.