Backing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Vessel Name
Remedy
Vessel Make
Senator Sport/Fisher 31
Not new to boating but very new to a trawler. With wind on my bow, I can't back her any where without the bow swinging around. SO, start again and same results. Give up and go in bow first. Is this the curse of a single screw trawler?Archie Bricker REMEDY

Read up on backing,docking, using "prop walk" to your advantage and filling, give it a try. A bow thruster is a big help, I have one and use it. Go to a commercial fishing dock
Watch those guys, many will be single engine no thruster, there are good books an articles on the net.
Good luck

I'm new to trawlers, too. But ours is twin engine. Years of experience in sailboats has taught me that there's no dishonor in docking when you've not pasted anything, going into a slip forward or backing. Neither our Morgan 27 nor our LeComte NE 38 had any sort of manners in reverse, neither knew the effects of propwalk, both had relatively high bows a long way from the center of lateral resistance that they'd swing around.

Practice, practice, practice...and ignore the dock lizards.

In many situations where the wind or current is strong enough, whether one screw or two, letting the bow get a tiny bit out of either of the major players and it is tough to recover.

Often single screw, you have to make many small adjustments even just backing 50 feet into a slip.

So the answer really is, no trick , just enough experience and practice to see you are starting to lose it and recover quickly enough.

DH: sailboats with separate rudders will back very well. The key is to get some sped then you have all the control you need.

In wind or current when backing the bow will want to fall off or down wind. A key is to time and angle your backing to allow that to happen as you line up for the dock.