Old 12-10-2017, 08:11 PM   #1
Guru

City: San Francisco
Vessel Name: Speedy Charlotte
Vessel Model: Beneteau Swift Trawler 44
Any thoughts on my bilge pump setup?

On my Beneteau Swift Trawler 44 I have the factory bilge setup. Although I am a novice, it seems pretty subpar to me.

I have one 300 gph pump located on a plumbing board with a tube that runs to the very bottom of the keel to pump out water sitting on the very bottom of the bilge.

I have one 650 gph Whale Supersub Smart 650 pump mounted about 8 inches or so above where the pickup tube from the other pump is.

Both of the above pumps are located in the Engine Room toward the middle of the boat and along the centerline.

That's all there is. Seems completely inadequate for a 44 foot boat.

There is no pump in the lazarette. There is no pump in the bow section where the bow thruster is.

Seems like one potential upgrade is to simply locate a very high-capacity pump just about where the Whale is now.

I did ask the yard about adding one in each section and they said "no one really does that as most people don't want 3 new holes in their boat".

Any thoughts?

Thanks!
Mike
MichaelB1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 08:21 PM   #2

City: Fajardo
It does seem the builder fell short. I have 3 1500gph dc pumps plus a 3000gph ac. Rather be safe than sorry.
Jazmin 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 08:52 PM   #3
Guru

City: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelB1969 View Post
I did ask the yard about adding one in each section and they said "no one really does that as most people don't want 3 new holes in their boat".
Hi Mike, you could have reminded the "professional" shipyard staff that it is generally recommended to put the new holes above the waterline