Old 05-06-2017, 09:35 AM   #1

City: San Antonio
Vessel Name: Shintullah
Vessel Model: 55' 1978 Defever
Anchoring, what would you do?

I'm a newbie. I recently moved my boat up the ICW from Stuart FL to Savanah GA. We were North of Brunswick were the tides and currents are extreme. The plan was to anchor out for the night, it was an hour before sunset and two hours before peak high tide. I pulled off the ICW into a narrow bayou to a marked active captain anchorage, plenty of space and deep water. Set the hook with a one or two knot current on the bow, all is good. This is where I got confused. I knew the current would swing to the opposite direction in the next three hours, thus turning the boat 180 degrees from it's present position. Not knowing if the anchor would hold I set three different drag queen alarms and set an alarm to wake up every 30 minutes in fear the anchor would drag as the current reversed directions. Sure enough the tide started flowing out the boat swang 180 degrees as expected and the anchor held but I serenely did not get a good night's rest. Was I overly paranoid or should I have reset the anchor to match the new current?

Talonewo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 09:42 AM   #2
Guru

City: Maryland
Vessel Model: 42' Sportfish
Depends on the anchor, how well the anchor is matched to the boat weight/windage, the holding ground (bottom makeup), how well the anchor was thought to be set, whether that anchor style/weight would be expected to retain that set or break out, whether wind might have become an additional factor... etc etc etc.

IOW, can't guess.

That said... believe it's useful that you paid that much attention during your "newbie" days... and believe useful that you gradually teach yourself more and more about how the process works, when you can trust it, when you shouldn't trust it, etc.