Alternating Engines while Underway

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SailorBruce

Vessel Name
Dolphin Dreams
Vessel Make
DeFever '53 POC
I’m new to a twin-engine trawler but have a friend who owns a catamaran sailboat giving me USA (un solicited advice). He only powers up both diesels when departing or arriving or when he anticipates needing extra maneuverability. When in open water, he swears by using only one of his screws. He claims it halves the number of engine hours, lets the one engine operate at a proper load, and significantly reduces his fuel consumption.

Are there counterpoints that aren’t apparent to me? Is it a common practice in the trawler community?

Bruce

The only thing I would agree with is it halves the number of engine hours. I do not see how it would let the one engine operate at proper load when now that engine is doing the work of two engines. As far as fuel consumption, you might save a little, but your not going to save half of it. Another thing you could also be damaging the transmissions. Some transmissions require you to lock the shaft if that engine is out.
I don't think this is common practice with any twin engine boat.

It does depend on how you would run the engines overall anyway.

Definitely lots of variables on speed, fuel consumption, where in the power curve(s) you are....

Usually one piece of advice with many variables not exactly like your situation is just that....one piece of advice.

Last edited:
His cat may have folding props, and folding props don't free-wheel the shaft while underway. That might provide an advantage for one engine underway.