Old 03-03-2013, 10:23 AM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Fort McAllister, Ga
Vessel Name: Hot Shot
Vessel Model: Mainship 390
Aft versus Forward Cabin

Greetings,

We plan to start seriously looking at boats in about a year when the wife retires from teaching. One thing I have not been able to find on this site is a discussion of the pro's and con's of a forward berth versus aft. It seems to me a forward cabin, like in a Mainship 390, would have more movement and be subjected to anchor line tugs while an aft cabin would be much more serene. Then again since i have no experience i may be totally wrong.

Comments?

Pluto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 10:32 AM   #2
Guru

City: Cary, NC
Vessel Name: Skinny Dippin'
Vessel Model: Navigator 4200 Classic
Oooo.... Neat subject... I love aft cabins and doubt we'll ever own a boat without one. However, in OUR case, Skinny Dippin' has some pretty hard chines that slap loudly even in mild conditions. For some, it's serene and settling. For other like myself, it keeps me awake. I suppose every boat is different and I am not an expert on boats other than ours. We would probably be ok in a full walk-around queen V-Berth, but we have looked at other boat on YachtWorld and boats in the size we can afford don't have a V-Berth big enough for us to feel comfortable. Aft staterooms feel more like bedrooms and hardly move at anchor. While I hate to say it this way, I want to feel more like we're in a hotel or condo versus feeling like we're on a boat. It's very nice.

Old 03-03-2013, 10:33 AM   #3
Enigma

City: Slicker?
Greetings,
Mr. P. Start seriously looking NOW. The more time you spend looking the more time you will have to refine your search PLUS, a few extra weekends away with the Mrs. is ALWAYS a good thing!
Old 03-03-2013, 11:18 AM   #4
Guru

City: North Charleston, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by RT Firefly View Post
Greetings,