1.Remote controlling 2.Calculating living space

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ddw36

Vessel Name
HI-HO
Vessel Make
Diesel Duck 462 (my fantasy)
1. Many boaters describe experiences in tight navigating & handling situations, such as picking up moorings, threading among coral reefs, etc. For single-handers, these situations may be eased if a person had remote control of speed & steering, while on the bow, for example. The controls could be worn around the neck, like those operating drones, model planes, etc. Joystick for steering, forward, back, etc.

As usual, there are many drawbacks of which I'm ignorant, one of which is how expensive to spec or retrofit a boat with this system.

2. Would it serve any purpose to list cubic feet for living spaces or other spaces like engine rooms/compartments in boat listings?

I'm not trolling. I've had limited boating experience, but enjoy reading/viewing others' boat lives, experiences, preferences, etc. I do not anticipate joining in any discussion which may follow, as I have no argument, just posing a couple of thoughts.

Last edited:
I use a Yacht Controller on this boat and the previous one. They are VERY proud of their product but I think it’s the best unit out there and used on boats much more $ than mine. I have control of the engine, thrusters, and anchor. Remotes for the thrusters only is a much cheaper route, but having the engine control is important to me because I single hand tie up the boat often. Yes, it can be done without fancy remotes (because I know those comments are coming) but I prefer not to wrestle with 45K lbs of windage when it’s windy so it was worth the investment....to me.

As to part 1, Yacht Controller and others. Not worn around your neck but portable.