Old 06-24-2019, 12:38 AM   #1

City: Newport, OR
Vessel Model: CHB 34
Columbia River - Portland to Astoria

My wife and I are making this trip to Astoria from Portland where we recently bought our CHB 34. We want to be out of Portland asap and are watching the weather so we don't have to do it in rain.

Aside from that, and ship traffic, are there any other things we need to plan/watch out for? We are not familiar with the river but have experience on river, bay and ocean from our sailing in and out of Yaquina Bay, which is where we eventually will make home-port.
Thanks,
Mike

MtHopeBay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 01:11 AM   #2
Guru

City: Gig Harbor
Vessel Name: Kinship
Vessel Model: North Pacific 43
I have no experience on the river. I would suggest that wind and tide would be much more important than rain. Iíd take a rainy day with calm winds and favorable currents over windy sunshine any day.

Dave
SPOT page
dhays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 08:02 AM   #3

City: La Conner, WA
Vessel Name: Imagine
Vessel Model: Farrell 34
River is still kinda high but dropping. You will need both sets of eyes to watch out for drift in the river, seems to be a lot for this time of year. Depending on the lighting, can be hard to see. Watch out for wing dams too.

Consider cruising the Multnomah channel around Sauvie Island. Take your time and visit places like Sand Island & Cathlamet, they have a nice little harbor.

Something like this would be useful:

https://www.amazon.com/River-Cruisin.../dp/0945265654

I'm in Columbia City, so toot your horn as you pass by!
GoneFarrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 08:59 AM   #4
Guru

City: Seattle
Vessel Name: AZZURRA
Vessel Model: Ocean Alexander 54