Old 10-20-2019, 09:18 AM   #1

City: Fairport, NY
Vessel Name: Penguin
Vessel Model: C-Dory Venture 29
Happy to help with Erie Canal info

Hello
I'm in upsate NY, Fairport... retired ex Kodak. Tour boat captain on the Erie Canal and a National Safe Boating Council certified powerboat instructor. I am a Cruising Editor for Waterway Guide and happy to provide any advice for members who might be travelling on the NY State Canal system. I've done it for 12 years, time to downsize from my 29 C Dory diesel inboard and do some other exploring.
Capt JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 01:28 PM   #2
Guru

City: Beaufort, NC USA
Vessel Name: Sylphide
Vessel Model: Kingston Aluminum Yacht 44' Custom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt JJ View Post
Hello
I'm in upsate NY, Fairport... retired ex Kodak. Tour boat captain on the Erie Canal and a National Safe Boating Council certified powerboat instructor. I am a Cruising Editor for Waterway Guide and happy to provide any advice for members who might be travelling on the NY State Canal system. I've done it for 12 years, time to downsize from my 29 C Dory diesel inboard and do some other exploring.
I just did the Erie Canal about a month ago. Fairport looked like a great place to stop, but I'm sorry to say I missed it this time around. Oh well, more to explore for next time.

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for offering up the local knowledge. I'm sure it will be helpful to many.
Wayfarer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 02:11 PM   #3
Guru

City: Here
Quote:
Hello
NY State canal System is our absolute favourite cruising ground.
Cruising New York State Canal System, Erie, Cayuga, Seneca
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 02:29 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

City: Au Gres, MI
Vessel Name: Black Dog
Vessel Model: Formula 41PC
Welcome aboard. We did the Erie about 3 years ago and had a great time.
Comodave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2019, 02:34 PM   #5

City: punta gorda, FL