Best Time to Head South

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Next chapter

Last year in October I bought a Marine trader 43 .
This is not my first boat but it is my first trawler so I'm a bit new at this and coastal cursing . My boat is in Boston and I would like to move to Jacksonville Fl. I'm getting ready to semi retire (30 years owning a business ). My girlfriend and I where thinking about heading south in May on the boat. Our plan was to make the trip in a number of one to two week periods through out the summer . So any advice would be very helpful.

Last year in October I bought a Marine trader 43 .
This is not my first boat but it is my first trawler so I'm a bit new at this and coastal cursing . My boat is in Boston and I would like to move to Jacksonville Fl. I'm getting ready to semi retire (30 years owning a business ). My girlfriend and I where thinking about heading south in May on the boat. Our plan was to make the trip in a number of one to two week periods through out the summer . So any advice would be very helpful.

Since you are already that far North, have you thought of cruising Maine for the summer then head South. Which ever way you go, spending some time in the Chesapeake would be good. I wouldn't worry about heading south from there until Oct. or Nov. Follow the sun.

I will second Don's advice to first cruise Maine. You could leave the first of July and be in Maine in 2-3 days. Then cruise up to Mt Desert Island, leave the boat there and fly back home from Bangor. Then in August, come back and cruise down to Portsmouth and fly home. Then finally start your trip home in September, but stop for a few days in Marthas Vinyard and the Elizabeth Islands on your way south.

Don't miss Maine. It will give you some nice memories for the dog days in Florida.

David

Two pieces of really good advice in posts 2 and 3 above.