Old 09-12-2017, 01:28 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Chula vista
Vessel Name: Rendezvous
Vessel Model: 1976 37' Californian Aft Cabin
Just a few Questions...

Hello friends!
I am the new owner to an old boat, and she is just begging for a lot of attention and pride in ownership...

I posted in the Welcome Mat, so if you are following along there you already know the propellers (and possibly the electrical system) are shot. But what isn't so easy to see and what I am hoping to find help on, is how to sound or obtain a rough estimate of fuel in a tank with no sounding tubes (and a non functioning TLI)?

I am concerned because I have a several degree stbd list and the only thing I haven't been able to verify is the stbd fuel tank level.

Thank you shipmates!

Fry
Old 09-12-2017, 03:06 PM   #2

City: Annapolis, MD
Vessel Name: Think Big
Vessel Model: Camano Troll 2003
Guessing by the condition of the props that any fuel in there is going to be in pretty bad condition. Maybe salvagable for use in a diesel heater... As far as the list, in addition to the levels in the water and fuel tanks, be sure to take into account your battery inventory. Is the house bank still in place. A missing battery bank on the port side could account for some missing weight. Was a generator removed? Just need to inventory what is there and/or removed. Fuel tank level may be determined by tapping the sides if accessible and metal.
MiltonP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 04:41 PM   #3

City: Northern Ontario
Vessel Name: Chickadee
Vessel Model: Pilgrim 40
If the deck fuel fill connects to the tank with a straight vertical drop, you could easily check fuel level with an old-fashioned dipstick.
SlowGypsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 05:54 PM   #4
Guru

City: PNW
Vessel Model: 1976 Californian Tricabin LRC
Hi Fry
Saw your introduction and responded, before I saw this post.