Old 09-12-2019, 09:26 AM   #1
Guru

City: Rockport
Vessel Name: Ana
Albin 36, what have I done?

Well me and my lovely partner have just bought a 1980 Albin 36 to cruise and live aboard. We're both retired and in our mid sixties, our intention is to wander north from Florida in the spring to my mooring in Rockport Maine and then back to Florida in the fall. I'm not new to boats at all but I am new to pleasure boats and Albins, suggestions and observations from fellow forum members would be of interest.
Fish53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 11:07 AM   #2
Technical Guru

City: Wilmington, NC
Vessel Name: Louisa
Vessel Model: Custom Built 38
Have fun! Sounds like a good plan. Just seek out 80F (or your favorite temp). If you wake up and it is colder, go south. If warmer, go north.

Fall on the east coast can be awesome as you go south. Here in NC, sept through nov can be really nice, our favorite time. Just have to pay attention to cold fronts and hurricanes. The fronts can be nasty, but a few days after it is nice again. Hurricanes are a whole 'nuther topic.

Spring here can be rather raw. If it is warm, it is blowing. If it is not blowing, it is cold.

So you might head north later than you think, and come south later than you think.
Ski in NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 11:51 AM   #3
Guru

Good advice thank you. I'm from Maine and worked for years in Alaska so I'm used to cold and wet but heat and hurricanes are a bit out of my personal experience. I've been in hurricane force winds in the Bering sea numerous times but it's not something I chose to court in our Albin. We have no set schedule so a slow meander up and down as suits our comfort level is the plan, knowing what to normally expect in your neck of the woods is great info and I appreciate it.
Old 09-12-2019, 12:07 PM   #4
Guru

City: Southport, FL near Panama City
Vessel Name: FROLIC