Old 07-19-2012, 02:59 PM   #1
Veteran Member

City: Englewood
Vessel Name: Choices
Vessel Model: 1992 36' Grand Banks Europa
Needed: Krogen Manatee School

My husband and I are shopping for a trawler to do the Great Loop. We've looked at and climbed aboard many models and think that the Kadey Krogen Manatee 36 would best suit our needs. I was excited when I saw a web page for Southwest Florida Yachts that showed a Manatee for charter. We live in southwest Florida, so it was perfect. I contacted them to see if we could charter it with a captain for a few days of trawler school. We're absolute novices, so I wanted to try a Manatee on the water and extend our knowledge before making a purchase. Unfortunately, SW FL Yachts no longer has the Manatee. They have a larger Krogen but the experience wouldn't be the same.

Does anyone know how we can get some on-water training and experience on a Krogen Manatee? We are willing to pay for it, if we could find a trawler school with a Manatee. Or, maybe someone who owns a Manatee would be willing to hire out themselves and their boat.

I know we can hire a trainer to come aboard our boat once we purchase it, but we'd like to get some experience before we buy a boat, especially since it appears any boat we buy will be far from our home. Thanks for any suggestions.

Sue & Rich Freeman, Englewood FL
currently boatless
Sue Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 06:18 PM   #2
Guru

City: Ft Pierce
Vessel Name: Sold
Vessel Model: Was an Albin/PSN 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sue Freeman View Post