Old 09-25-2016, 08:19 AM   #1
Guru

City: Seattle
Vessel Name: Sea Bear
Vessel Model: Kadey-Krogen 54
Hull blisters worse on some model years?

Hi,
The bottom is getting a full job to remove a bunch of blisters on an 83 KK42, the company doing the work told me because everything was stripped down to the glass (not to the core btw) and re-epoxied followed by traditional bottom treatment I shouldn't have any blister issues again, the whole job is a 3 month ordeal.

My concern is that im not convinced the blisters are coming from water penetration versus an issue with the resin used on the KK42. Does anyone have any experience or thoughts? Do these types of repair jobs really last or is the only option to strip the outer glass to the core and reglass?

I'm new to cored hulls so any advice is appreciated.
Thank you,
Arthur
Arthurc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 09:04 AM   #2
Guru

City: Here
Ask for a written guarantee.
boatpoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 09:15 AM   #3
Guru

I'll have that, just was curious if owners had seen differences in model year? Especially with how many different builders/processes were used to build these over the 20 years.
Old 09-25-2016, 09:20 AM   #4
Guru

City: Cary, NC
Vessel Name: Skinny Dippin'
Vessel Model: Navigator 4200 Classic
Quote:
Originally Posted by boatpoker View Post
Ask for a written guarantee.

It is only my opinion, but I highly doubt any boat yard would give you one. There are just too many variables that could leave them exposed to liability.

Like any bottom job and bottoms, they are going to always be hit or miss. I don't think anyone could (or should) make general statements regarding this model or a certain construction technique being more susceptible to blisters or not.