Old 09-06-2019, 06:25 AM   #1

City: Dublin
Greenline 33 - anyone took it for offshore ride?

Hi Guys,

Newbie here and wondering if greenline 33 would be ok for crossing distances of 200nms? As in Irish Sea to West of France?

Cannot figure out if the CE B category means anything or its just another document that boat producer have to get for EU. If its true that B is covered I would think it be ok for such a passage.

Has anyone been on greenline 33 in open sea?
stoko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 09:12 AM   #2
Guru

City: Malmö
Vessel Name: ABsolutely FABulous
Vessel Model: Greenline 33 Hybrid (2010)
Hello Stoko - I have owned a GL33 Hybrid (165hp Diesel) for nearly 10 years now and have cruised extensively with it in the Baltic, as well as a little bit in the North Sea. Currently, I use it in the Mediterranean (Southern France). Love the boat, but can say that I would NOT consider a crossing like you describe with it. Why? A couple of reasons:

1) Best cruise speed for this boat is ~7 knots. 200nm implies a 29 hour run in perfect conditions. In rough, head-on seas, your speed will most likely be less than 7 knots. In medium beam-seas, you might find a better ride at 8-9 knots (because the stabilizing fins work better with more speed), but then the fuel efficiency drops. Regardless, the boat would have sufficient fuel capacity (with plenty of reserve) for a 200nm run.
2) Weather & traffic risk. The route you suggest is prone to fog and rough weather coming from the Atlantic and takes you across one of the busiest shipping routes in the world. I would sooner tackle a journey like this in smaller legs, even if it means a greater total distance.