Ranger 41 trawler

The friendliest place on the web for anyone who enjoys boating.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

keith c

Vessel Name
Princess M
Vessel Make
2006 Mainship 34
Just won the lottery and have $750,000 to spend. The list price on the Ranger 41 now seems to fit within my budget. Any thoughts on the boats value?

I have no personal experience with Rangers. They appear to have many features for their price but I've heard conflicting comments about their overall quality. I would be particularly cautious about the pod drives based on my travels here in PNW waters with lots of flotsam. They are very exposed and very expensive to repair and service.

If you like the tug style, I think you could find many excellent used Nordic Tugs and American Tugs in that price range.

I have no personal experience with them as well. If I had that kind of money to spend for that size range of boat, I think I would look elsewhere. Now, for a trailerable pocket cruiser, I think they are a very nice boat with lots of very happy owners up here in the PNW.

Congrats...but...will you have enough money left over for increased costs?

What a downer dude, eh?

I for one find for that kind of money there are a lot of other boats for a lot less money that give you so much more. You could bank a tremendous amount of funds for future purchases!

Congrats! My lottery dreamboat is a Kadey Krogen 44. They rarely come up in the used market. Right now there are 3 used 44s on the Kadey Krogen yachts brokerage site. All below your 750 price target. Might want to give them a look.
John P

Rangers have some loyal owner groups but I wouldn’t get their 41 due to the unprotected and expensive to replace and maintain Volvo dual IPS drives.