Old 07-27-2014, 02:25 PM   #1

City: marco island
new bottom paint flaking

I got my 2006 34 Mainship about three months ago.

This is my first time I've had a boat bottom painted. I got a local vendor who does a lot of bottom painting.
Four weeks, after the new paint job, I had the diver come in, to clean the bottom. He said there was 8 areas, some the size of a silver dollar where the new paint flaked off. In his words he said the people painting the boat did a "lousy job" in preparation.

I got on my own scuba tank to take a look...I only found 5 places, the size of a dime, where the new paint flaked off.

Can some one out there advise me:

The new paint is pettit hydrocoat.

Is this flaking normal? Can it get worst? Can you advise what I should do.

Regards
jann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 07:54 AM   #2
Guru

City: North Charleston, SC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jann View Post
..........Can you advise what I should do.
Yes. Talk to the people who painted the boat. Show them evidence if possible. Ask them to correct the problem.
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 08:38 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

City: St. Marks, Florida
Vessel Name: Morgan
Vessel Model: Gulfstar 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by jann View Post

I got on my own scuba tank to take a look...I only found 5 places, the size of a dime, where the new paint flaked off.

Is this flaking normal? Can it get worst? Can you advise what I should do.

Regards
So far as whether or not it is normal, I've had a lot of bottom jobs and never have found any evidence of flaking. So just based upon only that bit of empirical evidence I would say it is not normal.

Best guess would be a poor prep job (bottom not pressure washed and sanded good).
Old 07-28-2014, 09:04 AM   #4
Guru

My experience doesn't sound like your problem but FWIW....